WV.GOV - WVBOM
West Virginia Board of Medicine
Board Information

WVBOM Home Page

About the WVBOM
Available Services
WVBOM FAQs
Staff Members
Members and Officers
Committees
Board Meetings
Applications
Forms
Board Public Hearings
Board Actions
Position Statements
Laws and Rules
Medical Practice Act
Physician Assistants Practice Act
Rules
Continuing Education
Management of Intractable Pain
Licensure
Renewal FAQs
Requirements - MDs
Requirements - DPMs
Requirements - PAs
Activity
Request for Continuation of License - Military Deployment
Miscellaneous
Licensee Search
Annual Reports
Newsletter
Related Links
WV Board of Medicine
101 Dee Dr., Suite 103
Charleston, WV 25311
Phone: (304) 558-2921
Fax: (304) 558-2084
 

 

Welcome to the West Virginia Board of Medicine website. This website is provided to serve our customers. Please let us know if we may provide additional service(s) on this website.

 

Featured areas of this website

Application for Employment

As you are most likely aware the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) provided a 45-day notice this summer reclassifying hydrocodone, including combination products, as Schedule II controlled substances. The reclassification goes into effect October 6, 2014. This change will require major changes to prescribing practices of hydrocodone combination products. Mid-level professionals in West Virginia, such as Physician Assistants, who had limited prescriptive authority of such drugs when classified as a Schedule III will no longer be able to prescribe hydrocodone combination products as they do not have authority in West Virginia to prescribe any Schedule II drugs.   Click here to find an AMA Fact Sheet regarding this reclassification.



To read the most recent communique from the West Virginia Commissioner of Public Health, Letitia Tierney, M.D., regarding the Ebola virus please
click here
.

 

The West Virginia State Medical Association has recently completed work on its online program for Best Practice Prescribing of Controlled Substances Training and Drug Diversion Training. The Continuing Medical Education Program meets the state requirements as mandated by 30- 1-7a and Legislative Rules 11CSR6 and 11CSR1B. Those successfully completing this training will receive the necessary 3 hours of AMA Category 1 CME which will be required as part of license renewal criteria for all licensees of the Board of Medicine beginning in May 2014.

This application will not work with a mobile device. 

     To begin this training
CLICK HERE

 
To Review a listing of previous and upcoming conferences which satisfy the CME requirement as well as the online courses available CLICK HERE

 

The Board of Medicine strongly urges all physicians to become familiar with the Board’s Policy on the Use of Opioid Analgesics in the Treatment of Chronic Pain in addition to taking the required course on Best Practice Prescribing of Controlled Substances and Drug Diversion Training which can be linked to from our Home Page.

 

UNIFORM APPLICATION PROCESS FOR PHYSICIANS

Over the past year the Board of Medicine has been working with the Federation of State Medical Boards to make available the Uniform Application process to those physicians seeking Medical Licensure in West Virginia. The Uniform Application is an online process which permits physicians to incorporate information and documentation from their FCVS verification packet if they have developed one. For a onetime fee it also permits the application information to be stored, if the applicant chooses, so that it can be utilized for licensing applications in other states.  

After many months of work and upon the recommendation of the Licensure Committee, the Board at its May 20, 2013, meeting gave final approval to adopt the Uniform Application for West Virginia.

The Uniform Application may be used by initial applicants for a permanent medical license and those physicians seeking reactivation of their previously held West Virginia license that has been expired for more than one year.

You may access the Uniform Application by clicking on “Applications” in the left hand column of this home page.

           

 

Verifications
The WV Board of Medicine has partnered with Veridoc, Inc., to offer a fully automated, internet-based, license verification system for medical doctors and physician assistants requiring a hard-copy verification.  More information regarding this new arrangement may be found on our SERVICES PAGE.

To obtain a written verification, visit http://www.veridoc.org.

 

West Virginia Medical Professionals Health Program, Inc., provides monitoring services to licensees (M.D.'s, D.P.M.'s, and P.A.-C.'s) with dependency, addiction, and mental health disorders while they pursue treatment and recovery for the same. Confidential participation in this physician health program is assured in instances where the licensee voluntarily self reports and remains in compliance with the program's requirements. This program was formally established  five years ago, and WVMPHP, Inc., with a 1000% growth in participants during this period, the WVMPHP continues to actively make medical professionals and the health service industry statewide aware of its services and to provide education regarding the issues of substance abuse and dependency.

          The WVMPHP's website address is http://www.wvmphp.org.

          The Bridgeport Office of WVMPHP, Inc., is located at 680 Genesis Boulevard, Suite #201, Bridgeport, WV 26330, telephone 304.933.1030, fax 304.933.1006. Office Hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday - Friday.

          P. Bradley Hall, M.D., Executive Medical Director, may be reached at  bhallmd@wvmphp.org.

          Linda Allman, Case Manager, located in the Bridgeport  Office, may be reached at lallman@wvmphp.org.

 

Notice
West Virginia State Law, West Virginia Code § 60A-4-410, provides that it is a misdemeanor for a patient, in an attempt to obtain a prescription for a controlled substance, to knowingly withhold  from a practitioner, that the patient has obtained a controlled substance prescription of the same or similar therapeutic use in a concurrent time period from another practitioner. Upon conviction, a fine and imprisonment may be imposed. For a Notice of the law which may be downloaded and placed in a practitioner’s office, CLICK HERE. (You will need Adobe Reader to open and print this file.) 

 

Licensure Requirements
WV Board of Medicine website provides licensure requirement information for MD's (Medical Doctors), DPM's (Podiatrists) and PA's (Physician Assistants)

 

Normal Office Hours are: Monday through Friday, 8:30 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. EST

Click here for driving instructions to the Board office

 

 

This website is maintained by the West Virginia Board of Medicine.
Please send any questions, comments or suggestions to our Web Administrator.